DiCioccio Earns Second-Team All-Skyline Women's Volleyball Honors

DiCioccio Earns Second-Team All-Skyline Women's Volleyball Honors

NEW YORK — Recognizing her outstanding all-around effort on the volleyball court, junior Nina DiCioccio (Brooklyn, N.Y./St. Edmund Prep) was named to the Skyline Conference All-Conference Second Team, announced by the league office earlier today.

DiCioccio was the leading offensive player for the Bears helping them to an 8-13 overall mark and a 4-6 record in league play that had them finish in seventh place overall, one spot out of playoff position.

The outside hitter was ranked 8th in the league in kills per set (2.48) compiling eight games with double-digit kills and six games with double-digit digs, recording four double-doubles. She also led the team in service aces (38) and ranked second on the team in blocks (16).

The All-Skyline honor is the second collected by a Bears women's volleyball student-athlete in team history. The All-Skyline teams and Player, Rookie and Coach of the Year are selected by the league's 10 head coaches.

Women's Volleyball All-Conference Team Announced

 # # #

2017 Skyline Conference Women's Volleyball
All-Conference Teams

First Team

Shannon Brady, Maritime (Sr., OH; Bayport, N.Y.)
Maia Cadle-Hinton, Farmingdale State (Sr., MB; Huntington, N.Y.)
Julimar Figueroa, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., LIB; Dorado, Puerto Rico)
Julia Hande, Farmingdale State (So., S/RS; Islip, N.Y.)
Kyleigh Kappas, USMMA (So., S; Parker, Colo.)
Tara Maloney, Mount Saint Vincent (So., OH; Williston Park, N.Y.)
Dominique Pope, USMMA (Sr., OH; Silver Spring, Md.)
Claire Urizzo, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Sr., OH; Medford, N.Y.)

Second Team

Melanie Coleman, Sarah Lawrence (Fr.., MB; Forest Hills, N.Y.)
Nina DiCioccio, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn (Jr., MH/OH; Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Kim Gries, Mount Saint Mary (Jr., S; Hicksville, N.Y.)
Nicole Henderson, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., S; Bergenfield, N.J.)
Kate Lefler, USMMA (Jr., OH; Norman, Okla.)
Danielle Senecal, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Jr., LIB; Manorville, N.Y.)
Lauren Anne Strezenec, Farmingdale State (Jr., S; Merrick, N.Y.)

Player of the Year: Julia Hande, Farmingdale State
Rookie of the Year: Melanie Coleman, Sarah Lawrence
Coach of the Year: Kristy Nix, Farmingdale State (first season)