Baglino Secures Spot on Skyline Softball All-Conference Second Team

Baglino Secures Spot on Skyline Softball All-Conference Second Team

NEW YORK — Helping the team to their first Skyline Conference postseason appearance in team history, St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) sophomore Brianna Baglino (Howard Beach, N.Y./St. Francis Prep) was selected to the 2018 Skyline Softball All-Conference Second Team announced by the league office today.

Baglino lifted her averages by nearly 50 points over her rookie season to finish second on the team in batting average (.341) and slugging percentage (.388), while accumulating 12 runs, nine RBI, and four doubles.

In conference games, the second-team catcher improved her batting average to .412 and her 21 hits were tied for fifth best in the league. 

She recorded eight multi-hit games on the season and highlighted her season with a 7-for-9 effort over a key Skyline doubleheader split with Sarah Lawrence that ultimately helped the Bears clinch a postseason berth and finished with two doubles, two RBI, and three runs scored.

It is the first postseason honor for Baglino and she is the fifth All-Skyline selection in team history.

The Bears finished their season at 12-19 overall ending their season with a first-round loss to Farmingdale State College in the Skyline Conference Championship. The all-conference teams are voted on by the Skyline Conference's nine head softball coaches based on regular season play.

Softball All-Conference Team Announced

# # #

2018 Skyline Conference Softball All-Conference Team

First Team
C – Kristen Arbiter, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Sr., Seaford, N.Y.)
* C – Rachel Heizer, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., Vacaville, Calif.)
1B – Amelia Cariddi, Old Westbury (So., Seaford, N.Y.)
2B – Amaris Negron, Farmingdale State (Fr., Central Islip, N.Y.)
SS – Lyndsay Smocer, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Jr., Hauppauge, N.Y.)
3B – Riley Vuyovich, Sarah Lawrence (Sr., Toms River, N.J.)
OF – Ashley Accardi, St. Joseph's-L.I. (So., Holtsville, N.Y.)
OF – Samantha Broo, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., Manahawkin, N.J.)
*** OF – Lexie Collard, Farmingdale State (Fr., Deer Park, N.Y.)
DP – Alanna Alioto-Reyes, Mount Saint Vincent (So., Alameda, Calif.)
UT – Lauren Bloom, Old Westbury (So., Hicksville, N.Y.)
** P – Theresa Cardello, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Sr., No. Babylon, N.Y.)
P – Jaxie Collard, Farmingdale State (Jr., Deer Park, N.Y.)
P – Cindy Connoly, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Walden, N.Y.)
Second Team
C – Brianna Baglino, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn (So., Howard Beach, N.Y.)
1B – Jessica Lombardo, Farmingdale State (So., Levittown, N.Y.)
1B – Katie Moos, Mount Saint Vincent (Jr., Florida, N.Y.)
2B – Victoria Capone-Froio, Purchase (Sr., Yonkers, N.Y.)
SS – Christina Rayfield, Farmingdale State (Jr., Commack, N.Y.)
3B – Amanda Fucci, Old Westbury (Sr., Bellmore, N.Y.)
OF – Taylor Canto, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., Walden, N.Y.)
OF – Daniella Edelson, Purchase (Jr., Hopewell Jct., N.Y.)
OF – Lauren Oury, Mount Saint Mary (So., Bethpage, N.Y.)
OF – Franzelyn Russo, St. Joseph's-L.I. (So., Bay Shore, N.Y.)
DP – Morgan O'Neill, Mount Saint Mary (Fr., Little Falls, N.J.)
UT – Hannah Thompson, Mount Saint Vincent (So., Vacaville, Calif.)
P – Ashley Blydenburgh, St. Joseph's-L.I. (Sr., Middle Island, N.Y.)
P – Rachel Heizer, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., Vacaville, Calif.)
* Player of the Year: Rachel Heizer, C/P, Mount Saint Vincent
** Pitcher of the Year: Theresa Cardello, St. Joseph's-L.I.
*** Rookie of the Year: Lexie Collard, Farmingdale State
Coach of the Year: Lisa Jusino, St. Joseph's-L.I. (third season)