Athletic Department Celebrates 2016-17 Season at Annual Awards Banquet

Doubling their win total from last season, the softball team produced the most victories of any Bears squad in 2016-17
Doubling their win total from last season, the softball team produced the most victories of any Bears squad in 2016-17

BROOKLYN, N.Y. — The 2016-17 season came to a close last Wednesday as the SJC Brooklyn Athletic Department hosted its annual Athletic Awards Banquet in The Hill Center gymnasium.

Manager of Athletic Communications Anthony Macapugay served as master of ceremonies for the event that featured over 150 student-athletes, coaches and athletic staff. Director of Athletics and Recreation James Lally opened the event looking back at some of the many accomplishments and accolades over the past season—his first as AD.

Graduating seniors Kristen Candelaria (women's basketball, soccer, cross country) and Julia Dineen (women's swimming) offered touching reflections of their four years as Bears. Candelaria and senior Mitch Brigando (baseball) were also selected as recipients of the Alumni Outstanding Achievement Award.

The 2016-17 team award winners are highlighted below:

Women's Cross Country

Most Valuable Player – Rebeca Ramirez
Coaches Award – Shannon Doherty
Academic Award – Katie Wenzler

Men's Soccer

Most Valuable Player – Michael Ortiz
Coaches Award – Cesar Oviedo
Academic Award – Beka Goduadze

Women's Soccer

Most Valuable Player – Kristen Candelaria
Coaches Award – Christine Emigholz
Academic Award – Rebeca Ramirez

Women's Tennis

Most Valuable Player – Denise Trerotola
Coaches Award – Mary Edward
Academic Award – Katie Wenzler

Women's Volleyball

Most Valuable Player – Samantha Cacace
Coaches Award – Briana Marrazzo
Academic Award – Samantha Rossi

Women's Swimming

Most Valuable Player – Shannon Doherty
Coaches Award – Rebecca Bollmann
Academic Award – Julia Dineen

Men's Swimming

Most Valuable Player – John "Drew" Kingman
Coaches Award – Matthew Ramirez
Academic Award – Matt Smith

Women's Basketball

Most Valuable Player – Victoria Porcasi
Coaches Award – Lauren Quesada
Academic Award – Kristen Candelaria

Men's Basketball

Most Valuable Player – Kavan Meiner
Coaches Award – Joseph Idyahia
Academic Award – Sean Solomons

Men's Volleyball

Most Valuable Player – Thomas Ambrosino
Coaches Award – Angelo Goutzinopoulos
Academic Award – Keyshawn Wright

Men's Tennis

Most Valuable Player – Kevin Caicedo
Coaches Award – Shivam Ghai
Academic Award – Matthew Smith


Most Valuable Player – John Condon
Coaches Award – Matthew Rienzi
Academic Award – Adam Schwartz


Most Valuable Player – Kristin Ferrigno
Coaches Award – Victoria Mahoney
Academic Award – Maria Gentile

Special Awards

Alumni Outstanding Achievement Award – Mitch Brigando & Kristen Candelaria


Schedule of Events and 2016-17 Award Winners