Sequeira Named Top Rookie as Sequeira and Molic Secure All-Skyline Women's Soccer Accolades

Sequeira Named Top Rookie as Sequeira and Molic Secure All-Skyline Women's Soccer Accolades

NEW YORK — Leading the St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) women's soccer team to a seven-win improvement and a berth in their first Skyline Conference Championships, freshman Deserae Sequeira (Clark N.J./Arthur L. Johnson) was named the Rookie of the Year and a First-Team All-Skyline selection while fellow rookie Anisah Molic (Staten Island, N.Y./Susan Wagner) was named to the second team in an announcement made by the league office earlier today.

The rookie tandem combined for 40 goals over the Bears 8-8 campaign improving on a 2016 season that yielded just seven goals in total. Finishing 4-5 in league play with a thrilling 1-0 victory over Sarah Lawrence on Sequeira's 23rd goal of the season, the Bears earned their first postseason berth, eventually falling to league semifinalist College of Mount Saint Vincent in the first round.

Sequeira scored a conference-best 23 goals in her rookie season while also adding 11 assists for a Skyline-best 57 points. She currently ranks fourth in the nation in points per game (3.56) and sixth in goals per game (1.44) after the final weekend of conference championships. A one-time Rookie of the Week, her 10 goals in Skyline play led all freshmen and was fourth in the league. Her five game-winning goals also topped the league as she scored the game-winners in one-goal league decisions versus Old Westbury and Sarah Lawrence.

Molic finished fourth in the league in goals (17) and fifth in points (41). A two-time Rookie of the Week honoree, Molic notched two game-winners in league play, scoring the lone goal in a 1-0 victory over Maritime. She erupted for seven goals and 16 points in a league win over Yeshiva, setting new program single-game records that still stand tied for the Division III single-game highs in 2017.

Sequeira and Molic are the first Bears to secure All-Skyline honors in program history. The All-Conference teams and Player, Rookie, and Coach of the Year are selected by the league's 10 head coaches.

Women's Soccer All-Conference Team Announced

# # #

2017 Skyline Conference Women's Soccer
All-Conference Team

First Team

Nina Brennan, Purchase (Sr., B; Staten Island, N.Y.)
Kristin Carroll, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Sr., M; Patchogue, N.Y.)
Daniella Ford, Farmingdale State (So., GK; Elmont, N.Y.)
Christina Gagliardi, St. Joseph's-Long Island (So., F; Ronkonkoma, N.Y.)
Taylor Howard, Farmingdale State (Sr., F; Massapequa Park, N.Y.)
Allison Jones, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., B; Merrick, N.Y.)
Tara Lyons, Farmingdale State (So., M; Wantagh, N.Y.)
Julia McGowan, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., F; Pearl River, N.Y.)
Bridget McKeever, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., B; Wallkill, N.Y.)
Erin Purack, Farmingdale State (Jr., B; Farmingdale, N.Y.)
Destiny Ribadeneyra, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., F; Maybrook, N.Y.)
Brett Robison, Purchase (So., M; Franklin Square, N.Y.)
Deserae Sequeira, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn (Fr., F; Clark, N.J.)
Sarah Wright, Maritime (Fr., B; East Islip, N.Y.)
Nicolette Wurglics, Mount Saint Mary (Fr., M; Glendale, N.Y.)

Second Team

Lauren Ashby, Sarah Lawrence (Fr., F; Syracuse, N.Y.)
Nicole Cavallo, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., M; Hopewell Jct., N.Y.)
Emma Costa, Mount Saint Mary (Jr. B; Rocky Point, N.Y.)
Carly Credidio, St. Joseph's-Long Island (Fr., F; Farmingville, N.Y.)
Erin Dailey, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., M; E. Windsor, N.J.)
Alexa Franceschi, Mount Saint Mary (Fr., M; Red Hook, N.Y.)
Alyssa Gaynor, Farmingdale State (Jr., B; E. Northport, N.Y.)
Kelly Gibison, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., F; Waterford Works, N.J.)
Cammie Havens, Maritime (Jr., GK; Point Pleasant, N.J.)
Jessica Lanning, Mount Saint Mary (Sr., F; Hicksville, N.Y.)
Anisah Molic, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn (Fr., F; Staten Island, N.Y.)
Alyssa Santeramo, Mount Saint Vincent (Fr., B; Wantagh, N.Y.)
Lauren Tate, Mount Saint Vincent (Sr., B; Toms River, N.J.)

Offensive Player of the Year: Destiny Ribadeneyra, Mount Saint Mary
Defensive Player of the Year: Bridget McKeever, Mount Saint Mary
Rookie of the Year: Deserae Sequeira, St. Joseph's-Brooklyn
Coach of the Year: Chris Lyn, Mount Saint Mary (second season)