Softball Set to Compete in First Skyline Championship; No. 6 Bears Face No. 3 Farmingdale on Wednesday

Softball Set to Compete in First Skyline Championship; No. 6 Bears Face No. 3 Farmingdale on Wednesday

BROOKLYN, N.Y. — St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn) will make their first appearance in the Skyline Conference Softball Championship and enter as the No. 6 seed with first-round action beginning on Wednesday, May 2. The Bears (12-18, 5-11) face No. 3 seed Farmingdale State College (15-17, 11-5) in a 4 p.m. single-game elimination. 

When the teams met in the regular season on April 22 in Farmingdale, Victoria Mahoney scattered six hits and didn't allow a Ram to reach third base in a 2-0 game one shutout. The loss stands as Farmingdale's only shutout of the season and their only loss against a team ranked lower than them in the final standings. The Rams avenged the shutout running away with the nightcap, 19-2, to split the doubleheader.

No. 4 seed College of Mount Saint Vincent travels to No. 5 seed SUNY College at Old Westbury for the other Wednesday first-round matchup. 

Top-seeded Mount Saint Mary College and second-seeded St. Joseph's-Long Island have earned byes into the double-elimination portion of the schedule. MSMC will take on the Mount Saint Vincent/Old Westbury winner at 2 p.m. Friday, while the Golden Eagles await the winner of the St. Joseph's-Brooklyn/Farmingdale State contest at 4 p.m.

The winner of the championship receives the Skyline's automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Softball Championship, which gets underway the following weekend.


Portions of the release contributed by the Skyline Conference

# # # 

2018 Skyline Conference Softball Championship


1. Mount Saint Mary
2. St. Joseph's-Long Island
3. Farmingdale State
4. Mount Saint Vincent
5. Old Westbury
6. St. Joseph's-Brooklyn

Single-elimination, Wednesday, May 2

Game 1: Mount Saint Vincent at Old Westbury, 3 p.m.
Game 2: St. Joseph's-Brooklyn at Farmingdale State, 4 p.m.

Double-elimination (at St. Joseph's-Long Island)

Friday, May 4

Game 3: Mount Saint Vincent/Old Westbury winner vs. Mount Saint Mary, 2 p.m.
Game 4: St. Joseph's-Brooklyn/Farmingdale State winner vs. St. Joseph's-Long Island, 4 p.m.

Saturday, May 5

Game 5: Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner, 11 a.m.
Game 6: Game 3 loser vs. Game 4 loser, 1 p.m.
Game 7: Game 6 winner vs. Game 5 loser, 3 p.m.

Sunday, May 6

Game 8: Game 5 winner vs. Game 7 winner, 11 a.m.
Game 9: if necessary, 30 minutes following the conclusion of Game 8